This Week in Cowboys History: Feb 8th – 14th

parade Troy Aikman
[photo via Dallas Morning News]

Feb 8, 1963: The Cowboys are the only pro football team remaining in Dallas because the AFL’s Dallas Texans officially announce they are moving to Kansas City to become the Kansas City Chiefs.


Feb 9, 1993: Over 400,000 fans crowd downtown Dallas for a parade honoring the Dallas Cowboys following the team’s 52-17 win over the Bills in Super Bowl XXVII.


Feb 10, 1987: Cornerback Orlando Scandrick is born in Torrance, California.


Feb 10, 2008: 13 Dallas Cowboys participate in the Pro Bowl, the largest number of Pro Bowl players in team history.


Feb 11, 1988: Safety Barry Church is born in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.


Feb 12, 1998: Chan Gailey is named head coach of the Cowboys, replacing Barry Switzer.


Feb 13, 1937: a team that decades later would be the archrival of the Cowboys, the Redskins, move their franchise from Boston to Washington, D.C.


Feb 14, 1991: Safety J.J. Wilcox is born in Cairo, Georgia (given name: James Edward Wilcox, Jr.)


February 14, 2010: A record crowd of 108,713 attend the NBA All-Star Game at Cowboys Stadium.



Author: Kristi Scales

Kristi Scales

Kristi Scales is the Cowboys' multi-award winning sideline reporter who has covered the Cowboys for 25 seasons.

Twitter: @KristiCowboy

One Response to “This Week in Cowboys History: Feb 8th – 14th”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *